Sep 20, 2012; Boise, ID, USA; Brigham Young Cougars linebacker Kyle Van Noy (3) during the second half against the BYU Cougars at Bronco Stadium. Boise State defeated Brigham Young 7-6. Mandatory Credit: Brian Losness-USA TODAY Sports

Kyle Van Noy On Bednarik Award Watch List

Today kicked off the pre-season award “watch lists”.  Today the Maxwell and Bednarik Award watch lists were released.

BYU Linebacker Kyle Van Noy was on the Bednarik Award watch list for 2013.  The Bednarik Award is handed out to the best defensive player in College Football in that season.  While the Maxwell Award goes to the best Offensive player in the country.

Last year, Notre Dame Linebacker Manti Te’o took home the hardware.  Could another LDS Linebacker win the award this year?

BYU has had one Maxwell Award winner, Ty Demter for his play in the 1990 season.  Detmer also won the Heisman Trophy that season as well.  The Cougars have never won a Bednarik Award though.

The Bednarik Award is presented at the annual ESPN College Football Awards show in December.

Tags: Bednarik Award Kyle Van Noy Manti Te'o Maxwell Award Ty Detmer

comments powered by Disqus